East Anglian Rocketry Society - Flying Rockets in Cambridgeshire, UK
 
Index: Launches: Dates

2017 Launch Dates

EARS hold monthly launches from January to December from our launch site at Elsworth near Cambridge.

Some of our members like to come along to the launches with a stack of filled out flight cards, as they generally know which rockets they are bringing along to fly. To enable everyone, even those who haven't been to a launch event with us before, to fill out their flight cards before they arrive we have uploaded the EARS flight card for your benefit.

If you are a newcomer to an EARS launch or even a veteran of many events, there are a number of do's and don'ts which we would like you to follow. Please read the Launch Etiquette page before arriving and try and follow the guidlines, so that everyone can have an enjoyable event.

If you have any questions about the launches then please get in touch with us.

Date Flying/NOTAM Hours Sunrise - Sunset Twilight Event Comments
Sun 8 January 10:00 - 15:00 GMT 08:06 - 16:07 GMT 07:26 - 16:47 GMT Monthly Launch
Sun 5 February 10:00 - 15:00 GMT 07:33 - 16:54 GMT 06:57 - 17:31 GMT Monthly Launch
Sun 5 March 10:00 - 16:30 GMT 06:36 - 17:46 GMT 06:03 - 18:20 GMT Monthly Launch CANCELLED DUE TO HIGH WIND FORECAST
Sun 2 April 10:00 - 19:00 BST 06:32 - 19:35 BST 05:57 - 20:10 BST Monthly Launch
Fri 28 April
Sat 29 April
Sun 30 April
Mon 1 May

11:00 - 18:00 BST
11:00 - 18:00 BST
11:00 - 18:00 BST
05:35 - 20:20 BST
05:33 - 20:22 BST
05:31 - 20:24 BST
05:29 - 20:25 BST
04:56 - 20:59 BST
04:54 - 21:01 BST
04:52 - 21:03 BST
04:50 - 21:05 BST
Set up Day
BIG EARS ANNUAL EVENT
BIG EARS ANNUAL EVENT
BIG EARS ANNUAL EVENT

(and 18:00 - 22:00 BST to 3,000 ft)

 
Sun 4 June 10:00 - 20:00 BST 04:42 - 21:14 BST 03:55 - 22:02 BST Monthly Launch
Sat 1 July
Sun 2 July
10:00 - 20:00 BST 04:44 - 21:23 BST 03:55 - 22:12 BST Monthly Launch Two day meet and AGM
Sun 6 August 10:00 - 20:00 BST 05:29 - 20:41 BST 04:48 - 21:21 BST Monthly Launch May be cancelled due to Harvest
Sun 3 September 10:00 - 19:00 BST 06:14 - 19:42 BST 05:39 - 20:17 BST Monthly Launch
Sun 1 October 10:00 - 18:00 BST 07:01 - 18:37 BST 06:27 - 19:10 BST Monthly Launch
Sun 5 November 10:00 - 16:00 GMT 07:02 - 16:23 GMT 06:26 - 16:59 GMT Monthly Launch
Sun 3 December 10:00 - 15:00 GMT 07:49 - 15:49 GMT 07:09 - 16:30 GMT Monthly Launch

* We fly from an arable farm and as the crops ripen and become tinder dry in the summer, we usually loose one, and at most two launches. These are when we cant fly from the site because of the fire risk. We are on the lookout for alternative flying sites during this period. If you know of any large tree and crop free areas, please do let us know.

History
Committee
Launch Dates
Launch Site
Launch Fees
Big EARS
Latest News
Newsletter (.pdf)
News Archive
Downloads
Membership Form
Membership Fees
Disclaimer
Constitution
Do and do not
SHOP